These are newly created congregations. They are manned by Catechists/Evangelists or lay Readers and directly supervised by the parishes/Archdeaconries under which they were created. Depending on the strength and capacity of the supervising parish or Archdeaconry, some of the Outstations have their own land and worship building while others are on rent.

It all starts with mobilization of evangelical campaigns which culminates in a group of worshipers that are willing to serve the Lord together within that geographical area. The outreach programmes are usually initiated, sponsored and supervised by the mother parishes. An outstation is named by the Bishop of the Diocese.


It is a congregation which has independent land, church building, a hall, a vicarage and economically independent to take care of bills, pay stipends, assessments and salaries of workers; headed by a Parish Priest or a Vicar.

When all the requirements are met, the Bishop pronounces a congregation “Parish”.


A number of at least three Parishes/congregations put together under an administrator or an Archdeacon forms an archdeaconry. The number of Archdeaconries and their geographical descriptions are established and described by the Bishop in consultation with the standing committee of the Diocese. Archdeaconries are governed by Archdeaconry boards with the Archdeacon or Administrator as the chairman according to the stipulations of the Diocesan Constitution (See Chapter VII, Article 38 Constitution and Canons of the Anglican Diocese of Cameroon)


There must be at least three parishes for the group of churches concerned to be accorded Archdeaconry Status. One of the Parishes concerned must have the requisite resources to be accorded an Archdeaconry headquarter.

The Bishop for administrative purposes shall in consultation with the Parishes concerned; agree with both lay and clergymen on the need to form an archdeaconry in the area.


If a Parish has grown above the level of a Parish but not yet an Archdeaconry, it could be given the status of a Deanery. It is financially or economically strong and can take care of outstations and raise them to the status of full grown Parishes. Deaneries are a portrait of Archdeaconries in the making. Rectors are incharge of archdeaconries.


A Diocese is a group of at least five Parishes headed by a Bishop. These Parishes could be in one or more Archdeaconries or portions of existing archdeaconries could be ceded together into a Diocese. It is synodically governed and episcopally led. Its creation and procedure is prescribed by the constitution and Canons of the Church of the Province of West Africa (Article XVIII) On the Admission and creation of New Dioceses.


A new diocese may be formed with the consent of the Provincial Synod. This could take three different ways namely; by the division of an existing diocese; by the junction of two or more dioceses or of parts of two or more Dioceses or; by the creation into a diocese of an evangelized area.

It is from the synod of the diocese to be divided that the proceedings for the creation of the new diocese originates. In the case of the junction of two or more dioceses, the synods of the dioceses concerned must mutually agree. If it is an evangelized area, a convocation of the clergy and Laity of the evangelized area shall be called for that purpose.

If the See of a Diocese is vacant, no proceeding shall continue towards its division until the vacancy is filled.

The New Diocese is considered in union with the church of the Province of West Africa only when the Provincial Synod has given its consent and when the New Diocese accedes to the constitution and Canons of the Province. The accession shall be filed with the Provincial Secretary.

In case a Diocese is formed out of an existing diocese, it shall be subject to the constitution and Canons of the Diocese out of which it was formed until a new one is developed by the Synod of the New Diocese and in which case the provincial Synod will be required to adopt such constitution and Canons.

If a diocese being formed will reduce the existing diocese to fewer than six parishes, then its creation shall cease. No new Diocese can be formed with less than five parishes. (See Article XVIII Of the Constitution and Canons of the Church of the Province of West Africa.


A province is a number of Dioceses put together and headed by an Archbishop. It is governed by the Provincial Synod. The Church of the Province of West Africa where we belong is further divided into two internal Provinces namely: the Internal Province of Ghana and the Internal Province of West Africa all headed by the Archbishop, and Primate of the Church of the Province of West Africa.


Under the supervision of the Archbishop of Canterbury and in accordance with the Constitution and Canons of the Anglican Communion, a Province is formed.

Login Form

Who's Online

We have 7 guests and no members online

Events Calendar